SS 33

17181920

Dear Mama,
I don’t know if you’ll ever receive this letter but I have high hopes that you do. I just wanted to let you know that I do believe I’m going to be okay. I never really understood all the secrets you kept from me over the years. About the house. My dad. The maid even. Or why we weren’t allowed to leave the grounds. I’m sorry I went to the beach without telling you…I’ve been able to walk over there since I was about thirteen. Before then, it was like an invisible wall that couldn’t be passed through. I didn’t tell you because I thought you’d force me to stop going. And I forgive you for kicking me out. I know you had your reasons. But Mama, I miss you so much it hurts. So many things have happened and I wish I could talk to you about them. I found a job at a little shop down the road. The store owner seemed to know you. She’s an odd woman named Nerissa. Do you remember her? Also I had my first date last night with a man named Jonah. We went to a pool hall and played foosball. He introduced to a wonderful song titled “All You Need Is Love” by a band called The Beatles and we danced until our legs grew tired. He’s so charming and kind and attractive. He’s just like a prince from one of the fairytales you used to read me. I’m very taken with him. I wish you could meet him.
Love, Melinda

 

Leave a Reply

