Here & Now 6

10

“Hey…freshman. Are you okay?” I felt someone’s hand brush across my forehead. Everything came flooding back at once and I sat up quickly. I met my mother’s concerned gaze. It couldn’t be possible…yet it was. “Yeah. I’m fine.” I told her meekly. “How did you know?” She furrowed her brows in question as she helped me up. “Know what?” I asked dumbly while I regained my footing. She stared at me warily. “You called me Mom.” I blushed and shrugged. “I just meant that you look kind of like my mom.” A smile spread out across her face then. “I’ll take that as a compliment, I guess.” She giggled. “So you didn’t get to tell me before you passed out…what’s your name?” She asked. “Miriam.” Her eyes lit up in approval. “That’s so cute.”

11

There was a brisk knock on the door before it opened and a brunette poked her head inside our room. “Are you ready for lunch, sis?” She chirped in a sweet voice. “Yeah, come on in, Megan.” Meredith waved her inside. “Miriam, this is my sister, Megan. She’s a sophomore.” My eyes were as wide as saucers at this bit of news. “You have a sister?” I mumbled and rubbed my temples. “I didn’t know that…no one ever told me.” They gazed at me like I was from another planet. “You know what, Miriam should probably eat something before she has another fainting spell. We’re going to a diner a few blocks away…they have the best food in town. Do you want to come with us?” Meredith offered. “Sure!” I replied then glanced at my side of the room. “But I don’t think I have anything to wear.” Both girls clapped with glee. “Makeover time!” They squealed and right away they got down to it. Within an hour, I looked like a hotter version of myself. “Oh, I love this song!” Meredith gasped and turned the radio up. “Dance with me!” We twirled around and around while Megan egged us on.

12

Eventually afternoon became evening and we all decided on sandwiches and drinks at the bar with another friend of theirs. I wasn’t in a hurry to leave though, I was trying to cherish every moment I got to spend with Meredith and Megan. It was just so easy to love them…and for the first time in two months, I felt content.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑